Skip to content
Tesla Battery Atlas
All factories

vehicle assembly · pack assembly · Lingang, Pudong, Shanghai, China

Gigafactory Shanghai

Tesla's first factory outside the US builds the Model 3 and Model Y for China, Europe and Asia-Pacific, using LG NMC and CATL LFP cells.
Opened
2019
VIN prefix (reported)
LRW…
Coordinates
30.879, 121.772

Batteries in Shanghai-built Model 3

Open in finder
LG 5CModel 3 (2017–2023) · Long Range AWD2020 – 2021Community
LG 5LModel 3 (2017–2023) · Long Range AWD2021 – 2023Community
LG 5LModel 3 (2017–2023) · Performance2021 – 2023Community
LG 5LModel 3 Highland (2023–) · Long Range AWDSep 2023 – 2025Community
LG 5LModel 3 Highland (2023–) · Long Range RWD2024 – 2025Community
LG 5LModel 3 Highland (2023–) · PerformanceApr 2024 – end not documentedCommunity
LG 5MModel 3 Highland (2023–) · Long Range AWDOct 2025 – presentDocumented
LG 5MModel 3 Highland (2023–) · Long Range RWDOct 2025 – presentDocumented
CATL 6CModel 3 (2017–2023) · Standard Range PlusNov 2020 – Dec 2021Community
CATL 6LModel 3 (2017–2023) · Rear-Wheel DriveDec 2021 – Oct 2023Community
CATL 6LModel 3 Highland (2023–) · Rear-Wheel DriveSep 2023 – May 2025Community
CATL 6MModel 3 Highland (2023–) · Rear-Wheel DriveMay 2025 – presentCommunity

Batteries in Shanghai-built Model Y

Open in finder
LG 5LModel Y (2020–2025) · Long Range AWD2021 – 2025Community
LG 5LModel Y (2020–2025) · Performance2022 – 2025Community
LG 5LModel Y Juniper (2025–) · Long Range AWDJan 2025 – presentCommunity
LG 5MModel Y Juniper (2025–) · Long Range AWD2025 – presentCommunity
LG 5NModel Y L (2025–) · Model Y L (six-seat AWD)Sep 2025 – presentDocumented
CATL 6LModel Y (2020–2025) · Rear-Wheel Drive2022 – 2025Community
CATL 6MModel Y Juniper (2025–) · Rear-Wheel DriveJan 2025 – presentEstimated

Supply chain

  • LG Energy Solution Nanjing(LG)Gigafactory ShanghaicellsDocumented

    Documented by 2019–2020 reporting. Current plant-level allocation is not confirmed.

  • LG Energy Solution · plant not disclosed(LG)Gigafactory ShanghaicellsDocumented

    LG cells in the 5M and 5N packs are documented; the supplying plant is not.

  • CATL · plant not disclosed(CATL)Gigafactory ShanghaicellsDocumented

  • CATL Lingang(CATL)Gigafactory ShanghaicellsCommunity

    First cells reportedly delivered in November 2021. Cell type and chemistry were not confirmed.

Packs used here

LG 2170 NMC · Gen 1

LG 5C

LG · 2170 · 2020–2021

5C
Gross capacity74.5 kWh+1 other figure
Usable
Unknown
Cells
Unknown
Modules
Unknown
NMCModel 3

2/11 specs known · 3 sources

LG 2170 NMC · Gen 2

LG 5L

LG · 2170 · 2021–now

5L
Gross capacity78.8 kWh+2 other figures
Usable
75 kWh
Cells
Unknown
Modules
Unknown
NMCModel 3Model Y

4/11 specs known · 6 sources

LG 2170 NMC · Gen 3

LG 5M

LG · 2170 · 2025–now

5M
Gross capacity84.7 kWh+2 other figures
Usable
Disputed
Cells
Unknown
Modules
Unknown
NMCModel 3Model Y

4/11 specs known · 8 sources

LG 2170 NMC · Gen 4

LG 5N

LG · 2170 · 2025–now

5N
Gross capacity88.2 kWh
Usable
Unknown
Cells
Disputed
Modules
Unknown
NMCModel Y

3/11 specs known · 2 sources

CATL LFP Prismatic · Gen 1

CATL 6C

CATL · prismatic · 2020–2021

6C
Gross capacity55 kWh+1 other figure
Usable
52.5 kWh
Cells
106
Modules
4
LFPModel 3

7/11 specs known · 6 sources

CATL LFP Prismatic · Gen 2

CATL 6L

CATL · prismatic · 2021–2025

6L
Gross capacity60 kWh+2 other figures
Usable
57 kWh
Cells
108
Modules
Unknown
LFPModel 3Model Y

5/11 specs known · 6 sources

CATL LFP Prismatic · Gen 3

CATL 6M

CATL · prismatic · 2025–now

6M
Gross capacity62.5 kWh+1 other figure
Usable
60 kWh
Cells
Unknown
Modules
Unknown
LFPModel 3Model Y

3/11 specs known · 6 sources

Sources: EV Magazine · Akkubrief